HB Welcomes Four New City Council Members

At the December 6 City Council meeting, State Senator Janet Nguyen swore in Pat Burns, Casey McKeon, Tony Strickland, and Gracey Van Der Mark who received the most votes in the November election.

Tony Strickland was selected as Surf City’s new Mayor amongst the City Council. Gracey Van Der Mark was chosen as the Mayor Pro Tem.  In addition, City Attorney Michael Gates secured his position for another four years.

Mayor Strickland is a former State Senator and Assemblyman, and served as the Vice-Chair of the City’s Finance Commission. Mayor Pro Tem Van Der Mark is a former Planning Commissioner and Finance Commissioner, and is the City’s first Latina Council Member. Council Member Burns is a retired Long Beach police officer who has lived in Surf City for nearly 30 years, and served on the City’s Citizens Participation Advisory Board and Community and Library Services Commission. Council Member Casey McKeon is a third generation Huntington Beach residents and small business owner. He has also served on the City’s Investment Advisory Board, Finance Commission and the Charter Review Commission.

The City thanks Council Members Kim Carr, Barbara Delgleize, Erik Peterson, and Mike Posey for their years of dedicated service to their constituents.

The next City Council meeting is scheduled for Tuesday, December 20.  Anyone can view on the City’s website, YouTube, Facebook, or Twitter.

Congratulations to all!

Share This Post


Get updates and Stay Connected to HB

Brought to you by the city of Huntington beach

Welcome to

Surf City Break

Brought to you by the City of Huntington Beach, Surf City Break is your source for the latest happenings in HB, ranging from local events to City programs. Bookmark Surf City Break – your virtual community hub.